Game of Thrones – is one of the most popular series in history! But did you know that the series is inspired by George R.R. Martin’s popular Song of Fire and Ice book series! Of course, I already knew that, and I wanted to read books to experience this epic and a fictional story about dragons, magic, battles, and the throne!

Some people think they’ve already seen the series and may not like the books. But that’s not true at all. If you’ve ever seen a movie and read a book based on a book, you’ll find that many things have not been researched in the adaptation. And as far as the Game of Thrones series is concerned, there’s a lot to enjoy! And if you haven’t seen the series yet, it will be a jackpot for any reader.

This article brings together all the books about the Game of Thrones, also known as the Fire and Ice Song, so you can easily follow and read the order. But before we start our list, let’s talk about the author of this great series.

About the author:

As mentioned earlier, the book series was written by George R.R. Martin. He was born in 1948 in New Jersey, America. He writes in different genres such as science fiction, horror, and fantasy. He started writing stories at the age of 21. He also wrote for television series, but the directors’ producers soon restricted him, and all he wanted to do was write a story on his own terms. And then he started writing novels for television.

At that time, he started with The Song of Fire and Ice, the first book in the series The Game of Thrones, which was published in 1996. It’s also received a large response. And there are many books in the series that have been included in the bestsellers of the New York Times.

And that’s how the whole series came into view. He went to a lot of trouble writing books, which is clearly visible in the books and sometimes in the series.

Now let’s start with the list of books that play the thrones in order.

Game of Thrones Books In Order

Books of the Throne

1. The Game of Thrones

Throne playbook 1

The Game of Thrones is the first novel in this series, published in 1996. The book has won the Locus Award and has also been nominated for other prestigious prizes.

The book introduces us to the characters and noble houses, including the Targaryens, Lannisters, Starks, and Baratheons. Robert Baratheon, King of Westeros, has now come north to ask the hand of his friend Eddard Ned Stark after the death of his former arm, John Arryn.

Like here, there are many other areas in different parts of the world, such as the Wall and Beyond the Sea.

The book presents many stories and themes, introducing several characters. In addition, the story has many twists and turns that keep you interested in the whole book.

2. A Clash Of Kings

Throne game

This book is the second in the series and was published in 1998. The book describes the later events of the first book. The book describes the Civil War in Westeros. On the other hand, the book also focuses on the events near the Wall after Jon Snow joined the Night Watch. Here they all invest in things that hit unusual people behind the wall, the wilderness.

The plot also shows Daenerys Targaryen’s plan to conquer seven kingdoms. The entrance to Stannis Baratheon also takes place. As Baratheon, he also claims his rights to the throne. Robb Stark has been proclaimed King of the North. The story is also about the Iron Islands, where Balon Greyjoy declared himself king. The war between these peoples was called the war of the five kings.

3. A Storm of Swords

The traditional game of the books of the throne

The next novel in the series Swordstorm was published in 2000. The book follows the last book’s events and brings the story forward. It is the longest book in the series, and in some countries, it is divided into two parts.

The book follows the events of the War of the Five Kings. There are events here, and each character is subject to serious changes. As the demands on the Iron Kingdom increase, everyone tries to prepare for war. Meanwhile, the king on the other side of the wall is also in the story.

4. A Feast For Crows

Books of the Throne

After a five-year hiatus, the next novel in the series Game of Thrones (the Song of Fire and Ice) was published in 2005. This book, too, consists of two parts. In these two parts, the story takes place simultaneously but with different characters.

The first book describes the places around Westeros, and the second part describes the north, the wall, and beyond.

5. A Dance With Dragons

Throne book

The Dance with the Dragons is the fifth book in this series and was published in 2011. The book presents several turning points in the lives of the protagonists. Jon Snow has been elected commander of the Night Watch. The Tyrion is also smuggled to Targaryen Daenerys. In addition, the story tells about new places like the Free Cities, Slabakov Bay, and places outside the walls.


So here are the books about Game of Thrones in the order you were looking for, and we hope you found the article useful even though the series has not yet presented any other books that are already planned. Although the TV series is over, fans eagerly await the following books, entitled Winds of Winter and Dream of Spring. Thank you for coming, and you can read more articles about different authors and their books in order.

You May Also Like

Best Laptops for Pentesting and Kali Linux

Information technology and artificial intelligence are becoming increasingly powerful and have a…

Top 15 Best 150-mile TV Antennas in 2022

If you’re not interested in pay-TV, installing a 150-mile TV antenna is…

Best HEPA Air Purifiers

Do you have problems with air quality at work or at home?…

15 Best Camera and Photo Filters in India Reviews

Like the filters you use in all social networking applications on your…