We often talk about how useful a particular card can be in a Commander deck. In some cases, those cards can be almost auto-includes, while others are worth considering if you have a particular strategy you’re trying to work with. Unfortunately, however, some are mostly useless outside of the extremely narrow deck types that can support them. One of these is the beloved “Exile” mechanic.
The Commander format is a casual Magic: the Gathering format where the cards are picked from all of Magic’s history rather than from Magic’s most recent sets. One of the most popular strategies in Commander involves a form of the banned card Shahrazad, a card that allows a player to cast a spell, then shuffle it into its owner’s library, essentially casting it again later on in the game.
Commander is a “highlander” format, which means that there is only one copy of any card permitted. As a result, exiled cards are a popular way to get around the number of cards in a deck. Some commanders, like Kresh the Bloodbraided, use exile as a way to have an unlimited number of creatures in play. Like Marath, Will of the Wild, other commanders exile cards with keywords like “Flash” and “Reach.”
Magic: the Gathering is an interactive game. In general, you can’t just play your game and ignore everything that happens at the table – you have to react to the threats that arise. There are several ways to do this. You can use the counterspell if you have it in hand. A card with a wiper is another good option. However, removal spells and counterspells move the opponent’s spells into the graveyard. It is far from impossible for your opponents to remove such cards from their graveyard and play them again. So what else can you do? The answer is a ban, and that’s what we’re going to cover today in this guide to banishment rules in MTG Commander.
What is Exile?
When you play Commander in Magic: the Gathering, the tabletop is divided into several zones for each player: Team Zone, Player Libraries, Graveyards, Battlegrounds, Hands, Stacks, and Exile. When a temporary card is played, such as B. An instant or witchcraft card usually goes to the graveyard. The same applies when permanent creatures (artifacts, lands, creatures, enchantments, and planeswalkers) are hunted before entering the battlefield or destroyed after entering the battlefield. Unlike in reality, however, a graveyard in Magic: the Gathering does not mean the end. Graveyard cards can often be replayed or, in some cases, simply placed back on the battlefield without being drawn. Games with recurring graveyards often treat their graveyards as secondary libraries. If you want to permanently get rid of a card, the best way is to destroy it with cards like Path to Exile, pictured above. However, it is important to note that some cards temporarily allow you to interact with the exile zone. Some cards, like. Angels of Serenity banish other cards only until they leave the battlefield. Other cards can exile and banish cards, which can be used to protect against board wipes. However, in most cases, a ban is removing a card from the game.
What happens if the commander is exiled?
The concept of exile raises interesting questions about the commander/HRE. One of the biggest questions is how the exile works with the commander himself. Normally, when your commander leaves the battlefield, he goes back to the command area, not the graveyard. But what if someone else exiles your commander instead of destroying or killing him? At this point, the commander’s owner is faced with a choice. They can either allow their commander to be banned, preventing them from playing with him for the rest of the game, or they can simply return him to their command area. This applies to any situation where your commander leaves the battlefield, whether he’s in the graveyard, in hand, or in exile. You have the option of sending your commander back to the command center.
Can a commander be permanently banished?
Not really. A player can banish their commander if they are banished by someone else, but right now, there is no good reason to do so. If your commander is about to be ejected, you can move him to your command area instead. Strategically, this is often the best choice, as your commander remains in the game. However, there are always exceptions to the rule. Perhaps one of the most interesting exceptions is Squee, the Immortal. As you can see, Squee, the Immortal, can be played from exile and the graveyard. If you use it in a Commander deck, it doesn’t matter if you let it go into exile or command. It might even be worth exiling it to avoid the commander’s tax if you use it again. The problem with Squeeze is that, aside from his unique ability, he’s not a very strong Goblin. There are many other goblin commanders to choose from.
Can the commander be removed from the game?
You cannot remove another player’s commander from the game in most cases. Remember that when a player’s commander leaves the battlefield, that player can choose whether or not his commander goes to the command zone in his place. However, there are extremely rare circumstances where you can remove a player commander from the game. You just need to be able to make decisions for that player and then make decisions by exiling their commander. The Mindslaver is a way to achieve this goal. Mindslaver allows you to make all the decisions that a player would normally make on their turn, such as casting spells, activating abilities, and knowing who they are for. Since players decide whether their commander is exiled after an exile spell is cast against them, you can also make that decision for them. It is a complex strategy that depends entirely on chance. Since you’re controlling a player on their turn, you have to know they have a banished card in their hand, Or you must have an instant exile in your hand that you can play on their turn. If you want to avoid using commanders, you can easily do that. For example, counterspells are an excellent option.
Many people create Commander decks without thinking about how other players will see them. While some amazing niche strategies effectively destroy the opponent’s Commander/EDH deck, you also have to think about sportsmanship. In our opinion, it is much more fun if everyone can participate in the game. A fair loss is one thing, but not letting anyone play at all is another. If you’re one of those players who constantly uses complicated combos that other players can’t even play with, you’ll probably find that few people want to play with you. When you exile a card, the card will go into the exile zone (also called the exile pile) and will no longer be part of the game. In Magic: The Gathering, exiled cards are usually banished from the game by a spell effect, such as that of Banishing Light or Oblivion Ring.
Frequently Asked Questions
How does exile work on commanders?
A: “Wow! I had no idea that exile works differently in the Commander/EDH format than it does in other formats. I always assumed that exile only works on creatures, but it turns out that it also works on lands and artifacts! I suppose that’s why you see a lot of decks running a lot of the same multi-color cards that only have one printing. I’m totally going to add a couple more of these cards to my next deck!” Of course, some cards are legal in both formats, such as and. Others are legal only in one or the other, like and. And some cards are banned outright in both formats, like or. But what if your deck is a 100-card singleton deck that uses the entire color pie and the entire card pool? What happens when you play with a banned card or are restricted in one or both formats?
Can you exile a commander in EDH?
A: A commander is one of the most powerful cards in the Commander format, but that power comes at a price. If your commander is destroyed or exiled, you lose the game. (You may also lose the game if your commander is moved to the command zone.) As a result, EDH players will often try to exile their commander so that they can play the commander in other games. But while you can exile a commander in Commander, don. Finally, we turn to a question that has vexed the Commander/EDH format players since its invention. Can you exile a commander in EDH? The answer, of course, is a resounding yes! Although you can’t play the exiled commander in any format other than Commander/EDH, you can use the commander’s color identity to build a deck around it. If you banish the card, it is considered dead, and you can’t play it. However, the card still exists in a special exile zone, much like the Japanese plane of Sokenzan.
Can you permanently exile a commander?
A: In the many formats of Magic, from Limited to Constructed to Cubes, there are many different ways to win the game. However, one format stands above the others as having a variety of ways to win: Commander, designed by Wizards of the Coast in 2003. (There are a lot of these things.) And if there’s one thing that’s almost as important as the variety of ways to win, it’s the variety of ways to lose. The most common way to lose is to be attacked to zero life points. Many decks focus on this strategy, and there are very few ways to combat it aside from attacking or blocking. However, there are other ways to lose, such as being exiled or going to the bottom of the library. What is the exact meaning of the phrase “permanently banish a commander” when it comes to commander/EDH? What does “permanently banish” mean, exactly? When a commander is exiled, does it mean that it never comes back?
Feedback, exile commander rules banishing light commanderbanishing light ruling commander exiled from graveyard exile enchantment commanderbanishing light vs. oblivion ring, People also search for, Privacy settings, How Search works, exile commander rules, banishing light commander, banishing light rulings, exile until leaves the battlefield commander, commander exiled from graveyard, exile enchantment commander, banishing light vs. oblivion ring, exile commander deck