One of the most long-awaited gaming notebooks at an affordable price is the AMD Ryzen 4000 version of the Lenovo Legion 5.

I bought it on the spot about two weeks ago, and I’ve been using it ever since. Below are my thoughts and impressions, with highlights and peculiarities to help you decide whether or not this purchase is right for you.

Spoiler alert: In many ways, it is even better than I expected, given all the hype and my previous experience with Legion products, but it is not without problems.

My configuration is a Ryzen 7 4800H processor with 16 GB two-channel DDR4 RAM at 3200 MHz, 512 GB SSD storage, and an Nvidia GTX 1650Ti graphics chip. Unfortunately, this is the most powerful GPU option currently available for this notebook and the main bottleneck when it comes to large GPU loads and gaming.

My device also comes with a 60 Hz, 300 nits panel with 100% sRGB coverage, an RGB keyboard, and an 80 W battery, all for a total of just under 1000 euros here. It’s a good deal, and the thing that convinced me in the first place, but Legion 5 goes much further in other areas, at least for now.

Specifications According to Revision

Lenovo Legion 5 15ARH05
Screen 15.6 inch, 1920 x 1080 px IPS 60Hz, 16:9, non-touch, matte, BOE NV156FHM-N6A panel
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 4800H, 8C/16T
Video Radeon Vega + Nvidia GTX 1650Ti 4 GB GDDR6 (50W, GeForce 446.14) – switching mode
Memory 16 GB DDR4 3200 MHz (2x DIMM)
Storage 1x 512GB SSD (SK Hynix HFM512GDHTNI-87A0B) – 2x M.2 NVMe 80mm slots on this variant
Link Wireless 6 (Intel AX200), Bluetooth 5.0, Gigabit LAN (Realtek RTL8168/8111)
Ports 3x USB-A 3.1 gen 1, 1x USB-C with data and DP, HDMI 2.0, LAN, headset/microphone, Kensington Lock
Battery Power supply 80W, 170W, no USB-C charging
Size 363 mm or 14.29 inches (W) x 260 mm or 10.23 inches (D) x 26.1 mm or 1.03 inches (H)
Weight 2.29 kg (5.05 lbs), 0.55 kg (1.21 lbs) Power Brick, EU version
Besides 4-zone backlit RGB keyboard and keypad (optional), 2x 2W stereo speakers, HD webcam

Lenovo offers this notebook in various other configurations, with different amounts of RAM and storage, Ryzen 5 4600H or 7 4800H processors, GTX 1650 or 1650Ti graphics, and various display options. We will cover all these options in this article.

The high-end GTX 1660Ti and RTX 2060 models will also be announced later this year and are much better suited for AMD’s skilled processors in this range. They are also already available for the Intel-based Legion 5i model.

Design and construction

The Legion 5 is made entirely of plastic and has not changed much in terms of form compared to the previous generation Legion Y540.

Aesthetically, it’s a dark gray laptop with no gaming accents or RGB backlighting. However, Lenovo emphasized the stickers and branding, with the LEGION brand on the cover and under the display, the LENOVO stickers on the cover and armrest, and the Harman Sound lettering under the keyboard on the left. The numerous stickers can be easily removed.

The quality of the construction is quite solid, with a well-designed screen and limited flexibility on the main deck. Smooth plastic for the lid, rougher plastic for the bottom, and coated rubber for the inside, but they fit well together and repel stains and oil on your fingers.

However, I’m afraid the rubber layer will peel off too easily. I’ve only had my device for about ten days, and I can already see small scratches and bumps on the front lip, even though I pampered her during that time. In addition, I’m on my watch all the time, and it seems that the soft coating isn’t strong enough to support the closure, which is not something I want to worry about on my daily driver and a possible breach of contract for me.

The other complaint I’ve had so far is that Lenovo always puts a permanent light on the on/off button, which is rather annoying when using the laptop at night as it’s right under the screen, in the middle of the case. It also serves as a status LED and lights up in different colors depending on the active power profile.

Moreover, the Legion 5 is a normal-sized laptop, so a bit thicker than the ultraportables I usually spend my time with, but still quite light, at just over 5 pounds. Not bad for a 15-inch laptop with an 80-watt battery inside. This configuration comes with a compact 170 Wh brick, which adds approximately 1.2 extra kilos to your bag.

In practice, Legion 5 sets the bar high for other manufacturers. First of all, Lenovo has put some very nice and unsightly rubber feet on the bottom that keep this anchor well on the table. They also place sturdy hinges that hold the screen in place without wobbling, while they can easily lift and adjust the screen with one hand. The hinge design is similar to the front Y530 and Y540 models, and I haven’t heard any complaints about breaking it.

The display can also be tilted 180 degrees, something few other notebooks in this category offer. The lunettes are made of plastic and have average size for a 2020 product. Compared to the legions of 2019, this update is equipped with a webcam with a physical privacy screen. Unfortunately, the image quality is poor, which is not surprising.

The thermal solution has not been neglected either, with wide and open-air inlets at the bottom and neat outlets at the back and sides, accompanied by a sophisticated internal thermal module. This is even though it only has a 50W GTX 1650Ti GPU. As far as I know, Lenovo uses the same thermal design on all Legion 5 models, unlike other OEMs, which reduces the number of heat pipes on the lower versions.

Finally, most ROs are placed on the rear edge, out of the way, with only LED status indicators, a headphone jack, and two USB-A slots on the sides. There is no support for card readers or USB-C charging. Still, otherwise, it offers just about everything you want in a laptop, and this rear setup makes it one of the most comprehensive niche configurations for connecting peripherals. Good for you.

Keyboard and touchpad

The keyboard has been redesigned from the Legions 2019 model and is one of the best layouts in the segment, with a full-size main keyboard, a smaller NumPad area, and one of my favorite aspects, the large and well-placed direction keys. That’s, that’s what I need on every gaming laptop!

Lenovo Legion 5 - keyboard and keyboard

The version also uses the slightly concave keyboards typical of Lenovo laptops, but they’re a bit inexpensive and not as comfortable to use as the high-end models. The reactions are also not surprising; they are more squishy and have affected my overall precision. At the same time, it is a fast and relatively quiet police force.

When it comes to backlighting, Lenovo offers a white backlit keyboard or an optional 4 zone RGB option for $30. Mine is an RGB model with a bright, even illumination; a lot of light comes out under the hoods with this design.

The Clickpad is a medium plastic surface, smooth enough and good enough for daily use. It is a further step forward compared to the previous generation of Legions, but don’t expect it to have the same performance or feel like the glass panel of a high-end keyboard.

There’s no biometrics on this laptop as far as biometrics is concerned.

Screen

There are now three-panel options available for the Legion 5 series:

  • FHD IPS with 250 nits, 120 Hz refresh rate;
  • FHD IPS with 300 bits, 60 Hz refresh rate, 100% sRGB coverage, for +50$ ;
  • FHD IPS with 300 bits, 144Hz update, 100% sRGB coverage, for +$100.

If it is given, be sure to select the 144Hz option. I would also stay away from the first one, it’s boring, and it’s not really what I learned, a 60% sRGB panel with many faded colors. Unfortunately, I had no choice, so my phone has the 60 Hz option with 300 nits and 100% sRGB coverage.

This may not be enough if you want to play fast games with 60 Hz refresh rates and a seemingly average response time. I don’t have a suitable instrument to measure reaction time, so you’ll have to look at other studies to find out more, but this panel is clearly spooky. I should add that there is no Freesync support in Radeon’s settings.

But while it’s not ideal for fast-paced games, it’s also a good choice for a mid-range laptop. This is what we got in our tests with the X-Rite i1 Display Pro matrix:

  • Panel HardwareID : BOE090D (BOE CC NV156FHM-N6A)
  • Coverage: 95.7% sRGB, 69.7% AdobeRGB, 73.1% DCI P3
  • Measured range: 2.51
  • Maximum luminance in the center of the screen: 332,62 cd/m2 per power supply
  • Minimum brightness in the center of the screen: 9.61 cd/m2 at power
  • Contrast at maximum brightness: 1064:1
  • White dot: 7600 K
  • Black at maximum brightness: 0.31 cd/m2

Our unit was miscalculated, and the white tip and gamma were distorted. However, after calibration, it still reached a maximum brightness of about 320 nits, with average deviations towards the edges but slightly darker in the lower-left corner. The color consistency was also better than I expected, with minimal DeltaE deviations in a 70% AdobeRGB coverage, making the panel versatile for daily use and occasional professional work.

Equipment and performance

Our Legion 5 is the high-end option currently available. It is equipped with a Ryzen 7 4800H processor with 16GB dual-channel DDR4 RAM at 3200 MHz, 512GB SSD storage, and dual graphics: Nvidia GTX 1650Ti dGPU and Radeon Vega iGPU as part of the AMD platform and with seamless load-dependent switching between them. In addition, you can disconnect the Vega GPU from the Vantage application by disabling the hybrid mode, which connects the internal display directly to the Nvidia GPU to minimize the input delay.

Before going any further, we would like to remind you that our test device is a retail model that I bought locally and that works with the software available at the end of June 2020 (BIOS EUCN19WW from 03 June 2020, Lenovo Vantage 3.3.61.0, GeForce Game Ready 446.14 driver).

According to the specifications, the Ryzen 7 4800H is an 8C/16T processor with a 45W TDP, but it can operate at a higher TDP and clock speed if it has sufficient power and is properly cooled. Lenovo also offers an optional Ryzen 5-4600H processor for this series for $100 less in the configurator, which is a better match for the type of GPU available here, at least for now. And it’s either the GTX 1650 or the 1650Ti, two entry-level graphics chips. The GTX 1660Ti and RTX 2060 will be announced later, but there is no exact word about when and where they will be available.

Our configuration also includes 16GB 3200 MHz DDR4 RAM, with two two-channel sticks and a 512GB mid-range SK Hynix SSD, fast enough for everyday use. However, it can be replaced by a faster drive, and access to the components is also quite easy; just remove the bottom panel.

This configuration uses an 80 Wh battery, so there is no hard disk cage, only two SSD M.2 slots, two memory slots, and a Wi-Fi module. Most of them are hidden behind the aluminum covers on the right.

In terms of software, everything can be managed through the Lenovo Vantage application, which provides access to power profiles, keyboard settings, system updates, battery settings, and more. I consider this uniform implementation to be one of the best system control applications in the industry.

You can choose from three power/temperature profiles, which you can switch by pressing Fn+Q:

  • Quiet – Limits processor power to 25W and keeps fan noise very low;
  • Balance – limited CPU power to 45W and fan noise ;
  • A 69+W processor and full-size fans ensure performance.

None of these modes directly affect the ground power unit in any way, nor does Performance Mode overclock the ground power unit, which most other OEMs offer in the higher performance profile. So, don’t worry; we’ll touch each other a little.

First of all, you should know that this Legion 5 takes care of everyday things without any problems while remaining calm and cool. The fans are still active, but they walk slowly, and you can only hear their very light humming in a completely quiet environment.

So let’s move on to more complex workloads and an initial test of CPU performance in a hard routine by running the Cinebench R15 benchmark more than 15 times in a loop, with a delay of 2-3 seconds between each run.

In terms of performance, the Ryzen 7 4800H exploits its potential in this chassis, which constantly operates at 4.1 GHz and 69+W TDP, with only 40-42 dB of headroom on the fans. It’s impressive, but there’s a catch: The system allows the processor to run at high temperatures of 90-92 degrees during this test. The other implementation of Ryzen 7 4800H we’ve tested limits performance and temperature to lower levels.

Switching to the Balance Profile works exactly within these limits, reducing CPU power to approximately 45 W for heavier loads. This only happens after more than 10 runs of Cinebench R15, but it is significantly faster than the more demanding test of Cinebench R20. Balance is also the highest power profile available when using a laptop without a power supply, where the processor is limited to 25+W.

Switching to silent mode sets the same aggressive 25W TDP limit, whether the laptop is connected or running on battery power, with the expected drop in scores and performance. However, the 25+W Ryzen 7 4800H delivers 1500+ points in Cinebench R15, practically smoking Intel at much higher power. Details below.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119168_914_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.jpg

Speaking of competition, I’ve added a few other Ryzen 7 and Intel i7 and i9 configurations in addition to this Legion 5 in the table below. The Legion 5 currently leads our Bench Loop test and also runs much quieter than all other participants in this test. In addition, when the processor is fully charged, you can barely hear the fans on this laptop, while most other laptops need headphones to block the fan noise. Impressive!

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119168_714_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.jpg

We then tested our results with the long Cinebench R20 shredding test and the dreaded Prime 95 in the performance profile.

At Prime, the Ryzen 7 processor alternates between 50W and 70W. It eventually heats up to 70 and 93-96 degrees, with the fans still reaching around 42 dB at head height. I prefer lower power and temperature, which happens in the first 5-6 minutes of the Prime95 test.

We also performed our combined CPU+GPU stress tests on this laptop with the same performance profile.

Stress 3DMark performs the same test 20 times per cycle, looking for variations in performance and degradation over time, and this device passed without a hitch. Luxmark 3.1 loads the CPU and GPU fully simultaneously, but the Ryzen platform does not support this well. So the log shows that the CPU only runs at 16W and mid 60s temperature, and the GPU runs at 50W and full frequency. Under a real combined load, the CPU runs faster and gets hotter, affecting GPU performance and temperature.

In this context, there are some benchmark results. We have performed all tests and checks using the standard performance profile, and here are the results.

  • 3DMark 13 – Shooting : 9532 (Graph – 10221, Physics – 23050, Combined – 3997)
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy : 4138 (Graph – 3758, CPU – 9720)
  • AIDA memory test64 : -Writing: Read this: 43016 Mbps, playback: 45588 MB/s, latency: 55.8 ns
  • Motor Overlay – 1080p Extreme : 1974
  • Uniengine Overlay – Environment 1080p : 7226
  • Handbrake 1.3.1 (4K coding at 1080p): 48.04 fps on average
  • PassMark: Assessment: 5621 (CPU tag: 20286, 3D graphics tag: 7655, disk tag: 10690)
  • PCMark 10 : 5795 (Foundations – 9605, Productivity – 7353, Creation of digital content – 7429)
  • GeekBench 4.4.2 64-bit : Mononuclear: 5312, multi-core: 31411
  • GeekBench 5.0.1 64-bit : Mononuclear: 1205, multi-core: 8099
  • CineBench R15 (best odometer reading) : Processor 2005 kb, single-core processor 189 kb
  • CineBench R20 (best performance): 4650 kb processor, 482 kb single-core processor
  • x264 HD Benchmark 4.0 32-bit : Pass 1 at 223.53 fps, Pass 2 at 112.43 fps
  • x265 HD Benchmark 64-bit: 30.89 s.

These are excellent results per processor, but Nvidia’s entry-level model dGPU brings down the overall result.

I have also repeated some of these tests with the Silencer profile, which is the reference if you want to carry out heavy loads while minimizing fan noise.

  • 3DMark 13 – Shooting: 9274 (Graph – 9938, Physics – 21626, Combined – 3934)
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy: 4036 (Graphs – 3685, CPU – 8789)
  • Handbrake 1.3.1 (4K coding at 1080p): average speed of 41.29 per second
  • PCMark 10: 5733 (Foundations – 9490, Productivity – 8044, Creation of digital content – 6698)
  • GeekBench 5.0.1 64-bit : Single core: 1200, multi-core : 7734
  • CineBench R15 (best odometer reading): Processor 1737 kb, the single-core processor 189 kb
  • CineBench R20 (best odometer reading): Processor 3496 kb, single-core 478 kb
  • x265 HD Benchmark 64-bit: 37.23 s.

This profile limits CPU performance to 25W for longer workloads such as the handbrake or X265 benchmark but provides solid performance in shorter tests like 3DMark and Geekbench. In addition, if the fan noise is kept at about 35-39 dB, it is not much quieter than the standard performance profile, which brings the fans up to a maximum of 43 dB.

We then switched to the Tweaked Performance profile, where the CPU was overclocked to Performance, and the GPU was overclocked to +120 MHz core and +200 MHz memory using MSI Afterburner. So, that’s what we have in this case.

  • 3DMark 13 – Shooting : 9697 (Graph – 10402, Physics – 22526, Combined – 4105)
  • 3DMark 13 – Time Spy : 4218 (Graph – 3848, CPU – 9284)
  • Motor Overlay – 1080p Extreme : 2046
  • Uniengine Overlay – Environment 1080p : 7513.

We expect the GPU scores to increase by about 2-5%. Not much, but every little bit counts in this unbalanced configuration, and you can keep voting.

Finally, we also did some work on the workstations for the Performance and Silence profiles:

  • Blender 2.82 – BMW car scene – CPU calculations: 2m 58s (performance), 3m 59s (silence)
  • Blender 2.82 – BMW car scene – GPU computing for the car scene: 2m 20 (CUDA – performance)
  • Blender 2.82 – Cool Scene – Computing CPU: 8m 51s (performance), 12m 2s (silence)
  • Blender 2.82 – Cool Scene – GPU Computing: 8m 12s (CUDA – Performance)
  • Luxmark 3.1 – Luxball HDR – OpenCL CPU + GPU Evaluation: The CPU is not detected correctly
  • SPEC Viewerf 13 – 3DSMax: 87,29 (productivity)
  • SPEC Viewfinder Paint 13 – Katia: 65,68 (power)
  • SPEC Viewfinder site 13 – Creo: 94.29 (Productivity)
  • SPEC Viewfinder 13 – Energy: 8.11 (Performance)
  • SPEC Viewfinder Paint 13 – Maya: 144.08 (Execution)
  • SPEC Viewfinder Paint 13 – Medical: 29.32 (Power)
  • SPEC Viewfinder 13 – Showcase: 52.31 (Productivity)
  • SPEC Viewfinder yard 13 – SW: 66.52 (productivity)

This again proved to be very useful for CPU-heavy tasks and bad for the combined subsections of Specviewperf.

Here’s how it compares to other laptops in this category in general.

As far as gaming on this notebook is concerned, you shouldn’t expect much; here, the GTX 1650Ti shows its limits again. We’ve run several DX11, DX12, and Vulkan games in Standard Performance and Performance Tweaked modes with maximum graphics settings. Here’s what we’ve got:

R7-4800H + GTX 1650Ti Power Personal representation Silencer
Battlefield V (DX 12, ultra-pre-set, beam tracks AUS) 57 frames per second (28 frames per second – 1% drop) 59 frames per second (29 frames per second or 1% less)
Far Cry 5 (DX 11, Ultra Preset, SMAA) 59 frames per second (52 frames per second – 1% drop) 62 frames per second (56 frames per second – 1% decrease) 59 frames per second (48 frames per second is 1% less)
Middle-earth: Shadow of Mordor (DX 11, Ultra Preset) 78 frames per second (58 frames per second or 1% less) 81 frames per second (59 frames per second – 1% decrease) 78 fps (56 fps or 1% less)
Red Dead Redemption 2 (DX 12, ultra-optimized, TAA) 41 frames per second (34 frames per second – 1% drop) 42 frames per second (29 frames per second, or 1% less) 39 frames per second (31 frames per second – 1% drop)
Rise of the Tomb Raider (DX 12, high preset, FXAA) 63 frames per second (29 frames per second – 1% decrease) 66 frames per second (31 frames per second – 1% drop) 63 frames per second (26 frames per second – 1% decrease)
Shadow of the Tomb Raider (DX 12, high preset, TAA) 47 frames per second (36 frames per second is 1% less) 50 frames per second (38 frames per second is 1% less) 47 frames per second (36 frames per second is 1% less)
The Foreign Brigade. (Volcano, ultra predetermined) 70 fps (55 fps is a low rate of 1%) 74 frames per second (58 frames per second – 1% decrease) 70 fps (55 fps is a low rate of 1%)
Witch 3: Wild Hunt (DX 11, Ultra Preset, Haircut at 4) 48 frames per second (32 frames per second is 1% less) 51 frames per second (35 frames per second – 1% drop) 46 frames per second (31 frames per second – 1% drop)
  • Battlefield V, The Witcher 3 – recording with the Fraps counter/in-game FPS in campaign mode
  • Games Far Cry 5, Middle-earth, Alien Brigade, Red Dead Redemption, Tomb Raider – rescued with reference utilities enabled
  • Red Dead’s optimized profile is based on these parameters.

While most of these titles work well with the Ultra settings, you’ll probably have to switch to High or Medium for the latest AAA titles to get a constant 60+ fps.

The HWinfo logs below show CPU and GPU speeds and temperatures in Farcry 5, Red Dead Redemptions 2, and Witcher 3 in a stock performance profile.

It is therefore not surprising that this configuration offers excellent temperatures. We see about 70-80 degrees on the CPU and 57-62 degrees on the GPU between the tested titles. However, I noticed that the CPU fluctuated between the speed of the turbo and the speed of the action. Although this did not cause a noticeable stutter, I think it had an overall negative effect on the lowest 1%. It’s strange behavior, and it’s not something I’ve encountered on other Risen laptops I’ve tested in the past.

GPU overclocking allows slightly higher clock speeds, with a 2-5% increase in fps between the tested titles. Not much, but at this level, it’s a welcome addition.

Switching to balance mode has no noticeable effect on the gaming experience. However, the silent mode limits the CPU’s power to 25W. It shuts down the fans at around 39dB, resulting in a slight increase in the GPU’s internal temperature, but this has little impact on average gaming performance. Although I’ve noticed a drop of 1% and occasional stuttering in this mode, Legion 5 still works well in the resting position.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.png

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119169_985_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.png

 

Battery play is also reasonably possible here, but the experience is usually constantly unstable due to CPU and GPU frequencies fluctuations. Older, simpler effects should work well, but the current AAA effects will not.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119169_972_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.png

Overall, Legion 5 is a mixed bag. The implementation of AMD Ryzen is impressive; it works well and reduces the fan noise, but the laptop suffers from the combined gaming and workload that benefit greatly from the GPU of the highest level. I am looking forward to at least a GTX 1660Ti 80W implementation of this chassis. Unfortunately, it is only available on the Intel Legion 5i version, but that’s different.

Sound, heat, communication, speakers, and other

The Legion 5 has a complex thermal module with two fans, four heat sinks, three heat pipes, and sufficient thermal plates on the CPU, GPU, and VRM. In addition, the air inlets and outlets are correct, so Lenovo hasn’t sacrificed thermal calculations even in this lower GPU configuration.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119169_993_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.jpg

We have already concluded that the temperature in the cabin of this Legion 5 model is excellent, which is confirmed by the silent fans. In Performance mode, they only go up to 43 dB, and in Silent mode, they go up to 40 dB.

  • The power mode is 42-43dB in games and 40-42dB in the Cinebench loop test;
  • Silent mode is 38-39 dB for gaming, 32-35 dB for the Cinebench loop test, and 30-33 dB for everyday use.

Both fans are constantly active during daily use, but you can hear them in a quiet room. But I didn’t notice any electronic noise or coil gain during our rehearsal.

At the same time, the plastic case only reaches temperatures in the low 30-degree range during daily use or in the middle 40-degree range at the hottest points in the middle of the keyboard and in the high 40-degree range at the back above the heat sink, while playing. The WASD and arrow keys are cooler in the ’30s and 40s, so long game sessions are very comfortable on this laptop.

However, things change when the GPU settings are higher, and the temperature is higher, noisier, or both, so be sure to check the detailed notes if you are interested in these options.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119170_577_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.jpg http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119170_917_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.jpg http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119170_539_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.jpg

*Daily use – Netflix streaming in EDGE for 30 minutes, silent profile, 30-33 dB fan
*Games – Performance mode – plays Far Cry 5 for 30 minutes, 42-43 dB fan
*Games – Silent mode – plays Far Cry 5 for 30 minutes, 38-39 dB fan

Intel AX200 2×2 Wireless 6 with Bluetooth 5.0 is implemented for connectivity in the notebook and Gigabit Lan via a Realtek module. We used our mainly wireless research unit, and it worked flawlessly, both near the milling cutter and more than 30 meters away, with obstacles in between.

The sound is driven by a series of speakers that pull-through slots in the sides of the floor. They had a distorted sound, but the sound was clearer once the laptop had finished updating the software. These are still small laptop class speakers but generally offer slightly better sound than the average $1,000 gaming laptop. What’s more, the fact that they don’t have to face noisy fans helps them, especially during the matches.

Finally, this notebook is equipped with a 720p webcam at the top of the screen and microphones. It’s there when you really need it, but the image quality is blurry and dirty.

Battery life

Lenovo offers the Legion 5 with a 60 or 80-watt battery, and we have the latest version here. Thanks to the efficient use of the hardware, this laptop will last a long time on a single charge.

This is what our test unit looked like, with the screen brightness set to about 120 nits (~60 brightness).

  • 12 W (~7+ hours usage) – Google Drive text editing, silent mode, display set to 60%, Wi-Fi ON
  • 7.5 W (~10 operating hours) – Full 1080p full-screen YouTube video in Edge mode, silent mode, screen set to 60%, Wi-Fi ON
  • 7W (~11 operating hours) – Netflix full screen in extreme mode, silent mode, 60% screen, Wi-Fi ON
  • 15W (~5-6 hours operation) – Display in peripheral mode, scale mode, 60% display, Wi-Fi ON

The notebook comes with a compact and relatively light 170W charger which is connected via its own rectangular plug. A full charge takes about 2 hours if you activate the fast charge via the Vantage application; otherwise, 2 hours or more. USB-C charging is not supported.

http://server.digimetriq.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/1608119171_562_Lenovo-Legion-5-review-AMD-Ryzen-7-4800H-GTX-1650Ti.jpg

Prices and availability

The starting price of the Lenovo Legion 5 is currently less than $900. Still, there are at least a few additional options you’ll want here: one of the 300-bit displays and preferably the 144Hz option when you play, dual-channel RAM, and at least 512GB of storage, although you can add these later (which will not affect the warranty in most areas).

Our test configuration is about $1350 at the time of writing. It’s expensive for what it is, but you’ll probably find it cheaper later. In fact, the competition is currently offering GTX 1660Ti configurations for $1000 (details here), with the RTX 2060 models between $1,200 and $1,300 (details here).

As I said initially, I paid less than 1000 euros for my configuration here. This was an initial offer for a pre-configured device, but you should be able to get your device for less than $1,000 USD/EUR later in the year.

Conclusion

This Legion 5 laptop is, in some ways, better than I expected.

Of course, I knew the AMD Ryzen platform was very powerful for CPU heavy-duty tasks and efficient for everyday use. I also knew Lenovo had a clean, practical design, good inputs, good displays, and many configuration options.

However, I didn’t expect it to work as well and quietly as with demanding loads and games. I haven’t tested all Ryzen laptops, but I don’t think any of them can compete on these points, which makes the Legion 5 a great work/school laptop for those who plan to work with heavy workloads and could take advantage of the Ryzen platform.

At the same time, it only runs on the GTX 1650Ti GPU, at least for now, which severely limits game performance and total potential under heavy GPU load. Also, although I bought it for a good price, the GTX 1650Ti laptop seems to be quite expensive in most areas, and I think it should be priced lower to compensate for the limited capacity of the GPU. I also hope Lenovo can offer at least one 1660Ti dGPU of your choice in most regions. The 1660Ti and 2060 configurations are currently being announced, but they may not be available worldwide, and we do not know when we will actually be able to purchase them. However, they are already available in this notebook’s Intel-based Legion 5i variant.

I will add that I was disappointed by the rubber lining of this laptop, it does not seem durable, and I think it will not age well, which is worth noting. Maybe it’s just a problem with these early production models, but it’s a sales product, and the hump on the front lip is unacceptable to me. That might even be reason enough to fire him.

In short, if the Legion 5 is great in many ways, I think you should wait before buying it if you buy it mainly for its processing power and if Lenovo offers it at a good price in your area (which should be about 1000 USD/EUR for a configuration like mine). Otherwise, you can already get 1660Ti laptops with AMD and Intel hardware for ~1000 dollars, such as the Asus TUF Gaming A15 or the 2019 Acer Predator Helios 300. While not without weaknesses, high-end GPUs generally make these laptops better.

Lenovo Legion 5 Magazine

Related Tags

acer chromebook spin 713,asus chromebook flip c434,asus chromebook flip c214,hp chromebook x2 2020,chromebooks canada,best chromebook under $300,best chromebook 2020 under $500,hp chromebook x360 14,dell inspiron chromebook 14 7000,asus chromebook c523,tom’s guide chromebook,chromebook price,chromebook comparison chart,lenovo 100e vs samsung chromebook 3,ipad vs chromebook comparison chart,lenovo s330 vs s340 chromebook,lenovo s330 review,11.6” 2-in-1 laptop,lenovo chromebook flex 5 (13″),touchscreen chromebook under $200,acer chromebook 712,acer c871,cnet best laptops under $500,apple chromebook,lenovo ideapad duet chromebook,chromebook walmart,chromebook tablet,chromebook screen size pixels,how big is a school chromebook,chromebook processor info,lenovo s330 14 chromebook review,samsung chromebook plus v2 vs lenovo c330,best chromebook deals prime day,dell inspiron 11 chromebook,new chromebook deals,best chromebook for developers,best chrome os tablet,best chromebook 2020 for students,chromebook comparison,best chromebook for seniors 2020,best budget chromebook 2020

You May Also Like

Top 10 Video Games of 2022

The distribution of public opinion after the disastrous fall of CD Projekt…

Tecno Camon 11 PRO Price in Nigeria and Review

Tecno Camon 11 PRO Award in Nigeria. For example, the Tecno Camon…

How to Remove Scratches from Aluminum Laptop

Steps to follow Removing scratches from aluminum is much harder than you…

Top 3 Best HDMI cables in 2022

There are three things we all have in common: The ability to…